GuiServer

GuiServer is a special tool that makes it relatively easy to implement GUI frameworks for different programming languages.

After being started, it creates a tcp/ip socket and begins listening to it, going into standby mode. After establishing a connection with the client, it starts accepting requests to manage elements of the graphical interface. Yet another connection with the client is created immediately, GuiServer use it for feedback: to send information to the client when some events occurs, such as closing the window, pressing the button, etc.

Thus, the program acting as a GUI server, as a service to provide client applications with a graphical interface. The client is a program, written on any programming language which can work with tcp/ip connections (almost everyone can) and which has a relatively small library, that runs the GuiServer process, connect to it, and exchanges data with it according to the specified protocol.


I started writing GuiServer to make GUI framework for Go language. This framework is called External, you can find it at Github. Besides, I make a similar library for Harbour - mostly for debugging. But it is became clear soon, that the same GUI framework can be done at minimal cost for other languages, too, - for Python, Java, C, and even for Perl and (yes, yes!) for PHP.

Since we have tcp/ip communication between client and server processes, they can be run on different computers in the network, and this opens the door for quite interesting ways of using this technology.

GuiServer is written on Harbour + HwGUI, and it is a good choice not only because using of this pair is most convenient for me personally. Such an implementation


Comments:       ()       prev.    next.       Add comment
The length of a comment - no more than 4000 characters.
Your name:

Email address:
(not be shown publicly)
 
Input text from an image:

GuiServer

GuiServer - это инструмент, дающий возможность относительно легко реализовать GUI фреймворки для разных языков программирования.

При запуске он создает tcp/ip сокет и начинает слушать его, перейдя в режим ожидания. После установления соединения с клиентом он начинает принимать от него команды, в соответствии с которыми создает те или иные элементы графического интерфейса. Сразу создается и другое соединение с клиентом, по которому GuiServer отправляет ему информацию при наступлении определенных событий - закрытие окна, нажатие кнопки и т.д.

Таким образом, программа играет роль GUI - сервера, сервиса для предоставления клиентам графического интерфейса. Клиентом является программа на произвольном языке программирования, который может работать с tcp/ip соединениями (а это умеют почти все) и для которого написана сравнительно небольшая библиотека, обеспечивающая запуск процесса GuiServer, присоединение к нему и обмен информацией в соответствии с заданным протоколом.


Я начал писать GuiServer, чтобы сделать GUI фреймворк для языка Go, которым в последнее время понемногу занимаюсь. Этот фреймворк называется External, его можно найти у меня на Github. Попутно делаю аналогичную библиотеку и для Harbour - так удобнее отлаживаться. Но сразу пришло понимание, что такой же GUI фреймворк можно сделать с минимальными затратами и для Python, для Java, C, и даже для Perl и (да, да!) для PHP.

Поскольку связь между процессами клиента и сервера у нас по tcp/ip, их можно запустить на разных компьютерах в сети, что открывает путь для довольно интересных вариантов использования этой технологии.

Написан GuiServer на Harbour + HwGUI, и это удачный выбор не только потому, что мне проще и удобнее пользоваться именно этими инструментами. Такая реализация


Комментариев:       ()       пред.    след.       Добавить комментарий
Длина комментария - не больше 4000 символов.
Ваше имя:

Адрес электронной почты:
(не предназначено к показу)
 
Введите текст с картинки: